My name is Jennifer. I am a recovering foodaholic.

“Food is the most inexpensive, readily available, socially acceptable drug in the world.”
—Dr. Marshall Stamper, Lean for Life

Recently I’ve had a hard time feeling satisfied after a meal. Before I finish eating, I’m already looking forward to the next snack or meal. On the drive home from work, I’m thinking about what I can eat for dinner.

Or if tonight, maybe we can have a cheat meal, off program. For the third time in a week. My drug of choice lately: pizza. Perhaps I’m stressed. Or bored. Or sad. Or angry. Or just lazy.

Some days, eating is the only thing I look forward to. I just love how I feel when I eat. I feel warm. Sometimes I can feel the energy spreading to my fingertips and my toes. I feel either energized, or completely relaxed and calm. Unless I go overboard. Then I just feel sick and mad at myself.

If that ain’t a drug, I don’t know what is.

I need to replace that feeling with something else. Hmm… Like going to the gym. I get a fantastic buzz at the gym. And afterwards, I get to have time in the steam room. Then I take a long, hot shower. I am warm. Relaxed. Calm.

I heard in a recent Lindora webinar that, “It’s okay to get comfort from food — just as long as you’re eating the right things.” Most of the time I feel great after eating a meal on program: a salad with veggies, a protein, and a fruit. But sometimes… well, nothing but a big bowl of buttery parmesan popcorn will do. The key is not to make it a daily thing. It needs to be the exception, not the rule.

My overwhelming love for food is a battle I will fight my entire life. I mean, ya gotta eat, right? My goal is to turn that struggle into a lovely balancing act, full of moderation, temperance, and a clean conscience. To know I will often fail, but to pick myself up and continue to fight on…

Realizing that I’m a food addict certainly makes me less judgmental of those who struggle with drugs, alcohol, prescription meds, etc… Who am I to judge? My drug just happens to be socially acceptable and takes a lot longer to ruin my life or kill me. Basically I’m leaning on the wrong thing, or taking the easy way out instead of dealing with emotions.

I need God’s help in this battle, that’s for certain. I just need to allow Him to help me.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.
Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

2 thoughts on “My name is Jennifer. I am a recovering foodaholic.

  1. That was the right scripture for what you just shared. We are more than concerors in Christ is another to add to you list of confessions. 😀 Blessings, for by faith we call those things that be no as though they were.

    Shonnie

Comments are closed.