Moonlighting as a Gym Rat

Name: Jennifer
Job title: Gym Rat
Employer: The Gym
Status: Part-time, 15 hours per week
Salary: Fitness and health
Why?
To pay off a creditor: My body

I’ve begun thinking about my time at the gym as my new part-time job. I was adding up the hours it takes and realized anew that it’s a serious commitment. Here’s our typical weeknight gym schedule:

8:15pm – pack bags and drinks for the gym
8:40pm – leave for the gym
9pm – begin working out (after putting stuff in lockers, tightening laces, etc.)
10:30pm – spend time in the steam room, then shower
11:15pm – head home
11:45pm – in bed
7am – wake up time (I do well with a good 7 hours of sleep)

With travel, showering and everything else, that’s about 3 hours per day x 5 times a week = 15 hours per week!

I’ve had to get a job as a gym rat because my body is in terrible debt. I’ve been withdrawing from my body account which has had a serious deficit for years.

The creditors—my heart, the cholesterol in my veins, my BMI—have come a knockin’ and it’s time to pay up before the grim reaper shows up at my door.

There’s something powerful about thinking of going to the gym as a job. Because going to work isn’t a choice. It’s a necessity. You need your job to pay the bills, put food on the table, and have the bank to have some fun once in a while.

Sure, occasionally you can call in sick or take a vacation day, but in general it’s a consistent, regular thing. You have no choice in the matter. I owe, I owe, so off to work I go!

In the beginning it’s a matter of survival, living paycheck to paycheck. Once your body is no longer in physical debt, then you get to start a savings account. Those reserves will give you more strength and endurance, allowing you to do more active and fun things. The savings will also stave off serious illness. Plus, you’ll look pretty awesome, too.

You’ll feel more alive than you’ve ever felt. It’s a good gig!

It’s my day off today (Sunday). I’ll be back at my part-time job tomorrow night.

What helps you get your body to the gym, day after day?

8 thoughts on “Moonlighting as a Gym Rat

    • Thanks Kate! It was a real “aha” moment for me. I think it’ll help me a lot in terms of my long-term commitment. : )

  1. Thank you for this perspective. I think I need to adjust my thinking and get closer to something like this. Right now I am balking at taking a walk on days when it rains…

    • Ohhh, I hate walking in the rain. The rain dripping down your face and neck – even wearing a hat and poncho… the wet shoes that don’t dry out in time for tomorrow’s walk… feeling hot on the inside but cold on the outside… I never understood how walking in the rain gets romanticized in songs and such.

      Have you tried doing the mall walking thing? I never have myself, but it seems like a good idea. : )

      • I love riding my bike or running/walking in the rain!! I keep cool in the rain. I don’t like it in the winter though. Buy shoes for water–they make them. 🙂 They dry out nicely. 🙂

  2. Great way to think about it. The totally cool thing about your part time job is that it pays very well. 😀 Enjoy all the perks that come with that very special job. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Gym Rat Discipline/Corrective Action « He Has Eyes

Comments are closed.