Weighty weight. 22 pounds down. 78 to go.

“When you believe that what you do influences the results you get, you will see yourself as someone who can act effectively to get what you want.”
—Cynthia Stamper Graff, Lean for Life

I weighed in today at Lindora.*  I’ve lost three pounds this week, for a total of 22 pounds since getting serious on July 25. Nice, slow and steady. Only 78 pounds to go…

It was a successful week of both weight loss and intentional moderation. I lost this weight by working out at the gym for five out of seven days, and eating on program for every meal except two:

  1. Thursday – slice of Costco pizza
  2. Sunday – dinner at Black Angus: top sirloin steak, fried shrimp, bread and butter, cheesy bread, salad (light dressing), orange slices. For dessert, a big cookie with ice cream on top (which I shared with my husband).

20 lbs of beans representing 20 lbs of fat. Gone.

Shopping at Costco recently, I looked for something that weighed exactly 20 pounds. I picked up a bag of pinto beans and handed it to my husband. He looked at me quizzically.

“Honey, feel how heavy this is. That’s how much I’ve lost!”

He was suitably impressed.

On The Biggest Loser, there was a great episode where the finalists had to carry all of the weight they had lost as they ran through an obstacle course. Each stage in the course represented a week on the show. They dropped that week’s worth of weight at each stage until they were finally light and free. It was so symbolic… To be reminded of how heavy you were compared to how light you are now.

Every now and then along this weight loss journey, I’m going to lift up something that represents how much weight I’ve lost. I want to remind myself just how heavy that weight was. And how unburdened I am by it now. And how I never want to carry that weight again.

I still have a long way to go, but I want to celebrate my accomplishments so far. I’m already seeing major benefits…

  • My size 20 slacks are too big and baggy to wear to work. I look sloppy in them. Looking sloppy is the complete opposite of why I want to lose weight. I need to find my box of smaller clothes in the garage this weekend.
  • My feet no longer hurt when I stand up after sitting for a long time.
  • My lower back is no longer stiff and sore when I wake up in the morning.
  • I am no longer sucking air while climbing the steep hill from the parking lot to our office each morning.
  • I am no longer out of breath when hustling from the parking lot to the movie theater.
  • I have a lot of flexibility and ease of movement. I can easily touch the floor while keeping my legs straight.
  • My arms and legs are firmer.
  • A day of cleaning house and doing other household chores no longer makes me feel like I’ve been hit by a Mack truck.

If I’m feeling this great after only losing 22 pounds, I’m already imagining how much better it’s going to feel to be another 22 pounds lighter.  Onward and downward!

* Although I’ve completed the 4-week Lindora program I purchased, I’m still able to weigh in if I’m within five pounds of my last weigh in on the program. One more pound lost and I’ll be locked out of their computer. No worries. I think I’ll be fine on my own. I’ve got this down pat!

How do you celebrate your weight loss accomplishments?

6 thoughts on “Weighty weight. 22 pounds down. 78 to go.

  1. Thanks Barbara! I didn’t expect only 20 lbs to feel this good. Gives me so much more to look forward to… it can only get better! : )

    • Thanks David! : ) I appreciate your encouragement! Knowing you are one of my witnesses helps keep me accountable. Thank you.

  2. Hi Jennifer,
    I noticed that you are going to out of the Lindora system in another pound. Last spring I received an email from Rite Aid and they were promoting the Lindora plan. They have an area on their web site (Rite Aid) that gives the information to the Lindora diet plan and a daily message for 10 weeks.
    I have been stupid in my attempts in trying to lose weight for the last year with a weekly on again off again with every fad diet out there. I lost 40 lbs with ediet in 2007/2008 and have gained back 27 lbs. I am going to start the Lindora-Rite Aid plan on Monday (9/19/11). The 10 weeks will end just before Thanksgiving and I’m hoping that I will have lost enough weight to keep my motivated to get through the Holidays without falling off my plan. I would love to lose a total of 45 lbs. and keep it off!
    Your story here is an inspiration! Keep up the great work!

    Michelle

    • Hello Michelle,

      Thanks so much for the tip about Rite Aid’s “Rite Weight Plan, in partnership with Lindora.”
      (http://www5.riteaid.com/health/weight/plan) I’m going to sign up and check it out. (Their registration is down at the moment, but I’ll try again later.)

      It sounds like you are in the mindset to get that 45 pounds off. You can do it. You will do it. You are far more powerful than you give yourself credit for! And don’t even think about failed past attempts. That was then, this is now. (Can you tell these are the words I tell myself all the time?) : ) Please keep in touch. I’d love to hear how it’s going for you.

      Jennifer

Comments are closed.