“I have eyes. I can see, you know.”

These were the  simple, gently delivered words spoken by my husband that finally threw me over the edge, propelling me into action. It was time. I just turned 40 in September. We got married last December – after being together for 12 years. Life is fantastic. I needed to do something about my weight.

Why create a blog about it?  #1 reason:  accountability.  Whether anyone reads this blog or not, it’s OUT THERE.  The successes and failures are ahead of me. Making them public to strangers is hopefully going to be much more effective than having my friends and husband try to encourage me or keep me in line.  Input from loved ones – no matter how gentle or constructive – is too personal. It’s too easy to get hurt feelings, too hard not to get offended.

How am I going to do it?  Lindora and their Lean for Life program.

I have tried many programs and by far, I have had the most successful weight loss with Lindora. In 2002 I was at 206 lbs. I lost 38 lbs in during their 3-month Phase 1 program. My doctor was impressed and asked me how I did it.  I gave Lindora all the credit and explained how I would have to go in every day to get weighed and have someone look at what I had eaten that day.  His comment was, “So they held you accountable?”  That was precisely it.  When the 3 month program ended, my boyfriend – now husband – said, “If accountability is all you need, I can help you with that!”  So I chose not to go for a second round of Lindora’s program and to go at it on my own.  I lost another 10 lbs until I hurt my back – get this – picking up an empty laundry basket.  So I stopped exercising for a few weeks and gradually stopped being careful about what I ate. And during that time, no matter what he said or how he said it, I didn’t appreciate any comments from my boyfriend about my progress or lack thereof.  So having the person closest to you in the world also acting as your coach?  Terrible idea.

So here it is, October 17, 2009.  I can give you all kinds of reasons and excuses for “letting myself go,” but it’s time to get over that and move forward.  I am now 219 lbs.  I am 5’1″.  I received a mailer this week from Lindora.  They are giving away 4 WEEKS FOR FREE!  The program is costly for most people but for me, that was part of the motivation. Back in 2002, knowing that this huge chunk of change was being put out for me to be successful was a compelling reason to stay on track.  So I made an appointment for a consultation on Thursday. The 4 weeks free offer is basically 33% off the program – a better offer than most insurance programs where you can get 20% off. Cost would be $933.15 (regular price $1,331.15).  I was extremely excited and ready to roll.

But my husband is so reasonable and full of common sense.  He also handles our finances and gave me a proposal:  the offer from Lindora is good through the end of the month.  That’s 2 weeks from now.  He said if I can do the program on my own during those 2 weeks, then I can join their clinical program. Great idea.

Having been through the program before, I am well-acquainted with all of the details and as I prepared for it yesterday and today, I realized the only thing missing from the equation was Accountability. Thus, the blog.

Lindora’s program starts with a 3 days of protein only.  This kick starts the weight loss big time.  I remember losing 6 pounds the first few days.

Today was Day 1.  Blog readers, if such a miracle is possible that someone should read this, here is my daily diary of exercise and food.  I am reporting it so, should my resolve falter, I will remember that I will need to publish my choices to the world. (Carbs noted in parentheses)

8:30am  2 egg whites (1)
9:30am GYM:   35 min treadmill, 10 min stationary bike
10:30am  Zone Perfect bar (13 usable carbs)
12:30pm  Top Sirloin 3.5oz (0), Diet Squirt (0), Chewable Adult Multivitamin (3)
2:30pm  Lindora BBQ Soy Puffs (8), Diet Dr. Pepper (0)
5:30pm 1/2 cup fat free Yogurt (Dannon Light & Fit) (11) and 1 T. Metamucil (12!) bought the wrong kind! grrr…. Need to buy sugarless – which I think has about 5 gr carbs)
8:30pm Tortilla soup (chicken with broth), 1 cup (approx 5 for the onions in it; not supposed to eat onions on 1st 3 days but a few won’t kill me)

Total: 53 carbs

I’m headachey and tired – not just from the first day of only protein and the first day of exercise, but it was a long day of grocery shopping at Ralphs and Costco to prepare for the week ahead.  And it’s so great to discover that RiteAid carries Lindora products, so I was able to stock up on those as well at a store a few minutes from my house.  The BBQ Soy Puffs are new since I was last on the program 7 years ago. They are great!  Day 1 has ended a great success.

2 thoughts on ““I have eyes. I can see, you know.”

    • Hi Leticia,
      I apologize for the 9 months later reply to your post! I failed miserably in my doing-it-on-my-own-foray into the Lindora program. I need to get back to it – it’s just been a stressful and eventful year – but that’s just an excuse. How are you doing? Did you start the program? Good luck to you, and thank you for reading my blog. I will pick it up again in the near future.
      Jennifer

Comments are closed.