Inspirational stuff…

A new discovery and a major time suck?  Pinterest.com.  It’s an online, visual pinboard where people share or tag the things they love in bunches categories. In creative/graphic designer/fine artist language, it’s a digital mood board.

One of my favorite categories is Fitness, where I discovered another very cool website: My Body Gallery. (It’s a pretty basic website. Navigation isn’t as good as it could be, and the advertising on the right side includes beautiful, skinny women modeling Nordstrom clothes!) But the site itself is a great place for a dose of reality: To see what other women look like who are at the same weight, size and shape that you are.

It is a place for women to post their true and accurate pictures. And for other women to see that the world is not a place of cookie cutters. We are all different in our body shape and size as well as our place in our journey to loving our bodies exactly as they are, not as we (or others) think they should be. It is a place for us to be kind to others and ourselves.

From Pinterest.com, here are a few of the images I’ve grabbed. I especially like the quote from Gwyneth Paltrow.

“The reason I can be 38 and have two kids and wear a bikini is because I work my (expletive) ass off. It’s not an accident, it’s not luck, it’s not fairy dust, it’s not good genes. It’s killing myself for an hour and a half five days a week, but what I get out of it is relative to what I put into it. That’s what I try to do with all areas of my life.” –Gwyneth Paltrow

“Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.” – Thomas Edison

“It will hurt. It will take time. It will require dedication. It will require willpower. You will need to make healthy decisions. It requires sacrifice. You will need to push your body to its max. There will be temptation. But, I promise you, when you reach your goal, it’s worth it.” – Unknown

“The voice inside your head who says you can’t do this is a liar.” – Unknown

4 thoughts on “Inspirational stuff…

  1. Wow! I really liked what Gwyneth Paltrow said too, because how many of us are willing to do that (or even CAN?)

    Also really liked that body gallery site – very interesting. I may repost that, because I have to say it’s really eye-opening to look at OTHERS who are the same size as you.

    Thanks!

    • Hi Angie, glad you liked this stuff… and glad you want to re-post the body gallery site. That’s what it’s all about – sharing inspiration with my fellow weight battlers!

Leave a Reply

